

Regular Meeting of the Board of Control Tuesday, September 17, 2019 Room 115 1221 Innovation Dr Ste 205 Whitewater, WI 53190

7 pm

Minutes

Committee	Members
Audit	Barb Fischer, Dennis Purtell, Marian Viney
Personnel	Kathy Klein, Dick Lovett, Nancy Thompson
Policy	Cindy Beuthin, Steve Brown, Megan Miller

Attendance Taken at 6:49 PM. Cindy Beuthin: Absent, Steve Brown: Absent, Karl Dommershausen: Present, Barb Fischer: Present, Kathy Klein: Present, Rick Mason: Present, Megan Miller: Absent, Tom Mooney: Absent, Dennis Purtell: Present, Nancy Thompson: Present, Marian Viney: Present. Present: 7, Absent: 4.Attendance Update Taken at 7:13 PM. Megan Miller: Present. Present: 8, Absent: 3.

I. Call to Order/Announcement of Compliance with the Open Meeting Law

II. Roll Call - A quorum of the Board was present.

III. Pledge of Allegiance

IV. Review and Approve Agenda

Rick Mason made a motion to approve the agenda as presented. Karl Dommershausen seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Cindy Beuthin: Absent, Steve Brown: Absent, Megan Miller: Absent, Tom Mooney: Absent, Karl Dommershausen: Yea, Barb Fischer: Yea, Kathy Klein: Yea, Rick Mason:

Yea, Dennis Purtell: Yea, Nancy Thompson: Yea, Marian Viney: Yea

Yea: 7, Nay: 0, Absent: 4

V. Approval of the Minutes from the Regular Meeting on

Kathy Klein made a motion to approve the minutes as presented. Marian Viney seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Cindy Beuthin: Absent, Steve Brown: Absent, Megan Miller: Absent, Tom Mooney: Absent, Barb Fischer: Abstain (Without Conflict), Karl Dommershausen: Yea, Kathy Klein: Yea, Rick Mason: Yea, Dennis Purtell: Yea, Nancy Thompson: Yea, Marian Viney: Yea Yea: 6, Nay: 0, Absent: 4, Abstain (Without Conflict): 1

VI. Audit Committee Report and Approval of Financial Reports

Marian Viney made a motion to accept the audit committee report and the financial reports as presented. Rick Mason seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Cindy Beuthin: Absent, Steve Brown: Absent, Megan Miller: Absent, Tom Mooney:

Absent, Karl Dommershausen: Yea, Barb Fischer: Yea, Kathy Klein: Yea, Rick Mason:

Yea, Dennis Purtell: Yea, Nancy Thompson: Yea, Marian Viney: Yea

Yea: 7, Nay: 0, Absent: 4

VI.A. Bank Reconciliation

VI.B. Cash Balance Report

VI.C. Check Register

VII. Citizen Input

VIII. Presentation: Mary Anne Wieland, Director, Jefferson County and Westosha Head Start

IX. Reports

- IX.A. Agency Administrator
- IX.B. Executive Director of Financial Services
- IX.C. Executive Director of Integrated Programs & Services
- IX.D. Executive Director of Marketing & Communications
- IX.E. Executive Director of Operations
- IX.F. Jefferson County & Western Kenosha Head Start

X. Action Items (consent agenda)

Kathy Klein made a motion to approve the consent agenda with appreciation to Rob Starks for his years of service to the agency. Rick Mason seconded the motion. The motion carried. Cindy Beuthin: Absent, Steve Brown: Absent, Tom Mooney: Absent, Karl Dommershausen: Yea, Barb Fischer: Yea, Kathy Klein: Yea, Rick Mason: Yea, Megan Miller: Yea, Dennis Purtell: Yea, Nancy Thompson: Yea, Marian Viney: Yea Yea: 8, Nay: 0, Absent: 3

X.A. New Hires: Patience Cosson, Speech/Language Pathologist, Whitewater Office; Kristi Kimberlin, School Social Worker, Whitewater Office; Mike Marquart, Senior Director of Technology Services, Whitewater Office; Emily Willoughby, Receptionist, Driver Education

X.B. Retirement: Rob Starks, Van Driver/PRC/AT Assistant, effective May 30th, 2020

XI. Jefferson County and Westosha Head Start - Grant Application: Approve the submission of the Jefferson County Head Start Non-Competitive Five Year Grant Application for Program Year (PY) 2020 Amount: \$2,936,194.

Rick Mason made a motion to approve the submission of the Jefferson County Head Start Non-Competitive Five Year Grant Application for Program Year (PY) 2020 in the amount of \$2,936,194. Megan Miller seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Cindy Beuthin: Absent, Steve Brown: Absent, Tom Mooney: Absent, Karl

Dommershausen: Yea, Barb Fischer: Yea, Kathy Klein: Yea, Rick Mason: Yea, Megan

Miller: Yea, Dennis Purtell: Yea, Nancy Thompson: Yea, Marian Viney: Yea

Yea: 8, Nay: 0, Absent: 3

XII. Jefferson County and Westosha Head Start - Approve the Jefferson County Head Start program school readiness goals for 2019-2020.

Marian Viney made a motion to approve the Jefferson County Head Start school readiness goals for 2019-2020. Karl Dommershausen seconded the motion. The motion carried. Cindy Beuthin: Absent, Steve Brown: Absent, Tom Mooney: Absent, Karl Dommershausen: Yea, Barb Fischer: Yea, Kathy Klein: Yea, Rick Mason: Yea, Megan Miller: Yea, Dennis Purtell: Yea, Nancy Thompson: Yea, Marian Viney: Yea Yea: 8, Nay: 0, Absent: 3

XIII. Jefferson County and Westosha Head Start - New Hire: Farah Aracena, Substitute Classroom Aide

Karl Dommershausen made a motion to approve the hiring of Farah Aracena, Substitute Classroom Aide. Rick Mason seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Cindy Beuthin: Absent, Steve Brown: Absent, Tom Mooney: Absent, Karl

Dommershausen: Yea, Barb Fischer: Yea, Kathy Klein: Yea, Rick Mason: Yea, Megan

Miller: Yea, Dennis Purtell: Yea, Nancy Thompson: Yea, Marian Viney: Yea

Yea: 8, Nay: 0, Absent: 3

XIV. Jefferson County and Westosha Head Start - Resignation: Dawn Wokasch, Education Specialist, effective August 23, 2019

Marian Viney made a motion to accept the resignation of Dawn Wokasch, Education Specialist, effective August 23, 2019. Kathy Klein seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Cindy Beuthin: Absent, Steve Brown: Absent, Tom Mooney: Absent, Karl

Dommershausen: Yea, Barb Fischer: Yea, Kathy Klein: Yea, Rick Mason: Yea, Megan

Miller: Yea, Dennis Purtell: Yea, Nancy Thompson: Yea, Marian Viney: Yea

Yea: 8, Nay: 0, Absent: 3

XV. Determination: AESA Annual Conference Board Attendance

Rick Mason made a motion to approve the following board of control members to attend the annual AESA convention: Cindy Beuthin and Nancy Thompson. Barb Fischer seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Cindy Beuthin: Absent, Steve Brown: Absent, Tom Mooney: Absent, Nancy Thompson: Abstain (Without Conflict), Karl Dommershausen: Yea, Barb Fischer: Yea, Kathy Klein: Yea, Rick Mason: Yea, Megan Miller: Yea, Dennis Purtell: Yea, Marian Viney: Yea Yea: 7, Nay: 0, Absent: 3, Abstain (Without Conflict): 1

XVI. Adjourn

Rick Mason made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Barb Fischer seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Cindy Beuthin: Absent, Steve Brown: Absent, Tom Mooney: Absent, Karl

Dommershausen: Yea, Barb Fischer: Yea, Kathy Klein: Yea, Rick Mason: Yea, Megan

Miller: Yea, Dennis Purtell: Yea, Nancy Thompson: Yea, Marian Viney: Yea

Yea: 8, Nay: 0, Absent: 3

Meeting notice posted at the following location: CESA 2 Whitewater Office Meeting notice also posted at cesa2.org c: District Administrators, CESA Administrators