

Whitewater, WI 53190

## Minutes

Attendance Taken at 8:38 PM. Eric Armstrong: Present, Steve Brown: Present, Karl Dommershausen: Absent, Dylan Helmenstine: Present, Lisa Huempfner: Present, Kathy Klein: Present, Annie LaValley: Present, John Pelock: Present, Dennis Purtell: Present, Marian Viney: Present. Present: 9, Absent: 1. A quorum of the Board was present.

I. Call to Order/Announcement of Compliance with the Open Meeting Law

II. Roll Call

III. Review and Approve Agenda

Steve Brown made a motion to approve the agenda as presented. Marian Viney seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Karl Dommershausen: Absent, Eric Armstrong: Yea, Steve Brown: Yea, Dylan Helmenstine: Yea, Lisa Huempfner: Yea, Kathy Klein: Yea, Annie LaValley: Yea, John Pelock: Yea, Dennis Purtell: Yea, Marian Viney: Yea Yea: 9, Nay: 0, Absent: 1

IV. Oath of Office - Newly Elected and Re-elected Members of the Board of Control

V. Election of Officers: Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson, and Treasurer Steve Brown made a motion to nominate Marian Viney as Chairperson. Kathy Klein seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Karl Dommershausen: Absent, Eric Armstrong: Yea, Steve Brown: Yea, Dylan Helmenstine: Yea, Lisa Huempfner: Yea, Kathy Klein: Yea, Annie LaValley: Yea, John Pelock: Yea, Dennis Purtell: Yea, Marian Viney: Yea

Yea: 9, Nay: 0, Absent: 1

Steve Brown made a motion to close the nomination process and on a voice vote appoint Marian Viney as the Chairperson. Kathy Klein seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Karl Dommershausen: Absent, Eric Armstrong: Yea, Steve Brown: Yea, Dylan Helmenstine: Yea, Lisa Huempfner: Yea, Kathy Klein: Yea, Annie LaValley: Yea, John Pelock: Yea, Dennis Purtell: Yea, Marian Viney: Yea

Yea: 9, Nay: 0, Absent: 1

Lisa Huempfner made a motion to nominate Eric Armstrong as Vice-Chairperson. John Pelock seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Karl Dommershausen: Absent, Eric Armstrong: Yea, Steve Brown: Yea, Dylan Helmenstine:

Yea, Lisa Huempfner: Yea, Kathy Klein: Yea, Annie LaValley: Yea, John Pelock: Yea, Dennis Purtell: Yea, Marian Viney: Yea

Yea: 9, Nay: 0, Absent: 1

Lisa Huempfner made a motion to close the nomination process and on a voice vote appoint Eric Armstrong as the Vice-Chairperson. John Pelock seconded the motion. The motion carried. Karl Dommershausen: Absent, Eric Armstrong: Yea, Steve Brown: Yea, Dylan Helmenstine: Yea, Lisa Huempfner: Yea, Kathy Klein: Yea, Annie LaValley: Yea, John Pelock: Yea, Dennis Purtell: Yea, Marian Viney: Yea

Yea: 9, Nay: 0, Absent: 1

Kathy Klein made a motion to nominate Dennis Purtell as Treasurer. Marian Viney seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Karl Dommershausen: Absent, Eric Armstrong: Yea, Steve Brown: Yea, Dylan Helmenstine: Yea, Lisa Huempfner: Yea, Kathy Klein: Yea, Annie LaValley: Yea, John Pelock: Yea, Dennis Purtell: Yea, Marian Viney: Yea

Yea: 9, Nay: 0, Absent: 1

Kathy Klein made a motion to close the nomination process and on a voice vote appoint Dennis Purtell as the Treasurer. Marian Viney seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Karl Dommershausen: Absent, Eric Armstrong: Yea, Steve Brown: Yea, Dylan Helmenstine: Yea, Lisa Huempfner: Yea, Kathy Klein: Yea, Annie LaValley: Yea, John Pelock: Yea, Dennis Purtell: Yea, Marian Viney: Yea

Yea: 9, Nay: 0, Absent: 1

VI. Set dates, time and place of the Regular Board of Control meetings for 2025-2026 Suggested dates and modalities:

- July 15, 2025
- August 19, 2025 (Virtual)
- September 16, 2025
- October 21, 2025
- November 18, 2025
- December 16, 2025 (Virtual)
- January 13, 2026 (Virtual) (Week early due to WASB Conference)
- February 17, 2026
- March 17, 2026 (Board dinner)
- April 21, 2026
- May 19, 2026
- June 16, 2026 (Convention)

Kathy Klein made a motion to approve the meeting dates for 2024-2025 as adjusted: July 15, 2025 (Virtual) August 19, 2025 September 16, 2025 October 21, 2025 November 18, 2025 December 16, 2025 (Virtual) January 13, 2026 (Virtual) (Week early due to WASB Conference) February 17, 2026 March 17, 2026 (Board dinner) April 21, 2026 May 19, 2026 June 16, 2026 (Convention). Annie LaValley seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Karl Dommershausen: Absent, Eric Armstrong: Yea, Steve Brown: Yea, Dylan Helmenstine: Yea, Lisa Huempfner: Yea, Kathy Klein: Yea, Annie LaValley: Yea, John Pelock: Yea, Dennis Purtell: Yea, Marian Viney: Yea Yea: 9, Nay: 0, Absent: 1

VII. 190 Day Calendar - working days calendar for 190 day staff
Lisa Huempfner made a motion to approve to table the 190 Day Calendar until the July 15, 2025
meeting. Dennis Purtell seconded the motion. The motion carried.
Karl Dommershausen: Absent, Eric Armstrong: Yea, Steve Brown: Yea, Dylan Helmenstine:
Yea, Lisa Huempfner: Yea, Kathy Klein: Yea, Annie LaValley: Yea, John Pelock: Yea, Dennis
Purtell: Yea, Marian Viney: Yea
Yea: 9, Nay: 0, Absent: 1
VIII. Designate official depository for 2025-2026

Suggested: First Citizens State Bank, Whitewater, WI Kathy Klein made a motion to approve the depository for 2025-2026 as presented. Eric Armstrong seconded the motion. The motion carried. Karl Dommershausen: Absent, Eric Armstrong: Yea, Steve Brown: Yea, Dylan Helmenstine: Yea, Lisa Huempfner: Yea, Kathy Klein: Yea, Annie LaValley: Yea, John Pelock: Yea, Dennis Purtell: Yea, Marian Viney: Yea Yea: 9, Nay: 0, Absent: 1

IX. Designate official newspapers for 2025-2026

Suggested: Wisconsin State Journal, Madison; Kenosha News, Kenosha; Janesville Gazette, Janesville; Racine Journal Times, Racine

Lisa Huempfner made a motion to approve the designation of the official newspapers as presented. Dylan Helmenstine seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Karl Dommershausen: Absent, Eric Armstrong: Yea, Steve Brown: Yea, Dylan Helmenstine: Yea, Lisa Huempfner: Yea, Kathy Klein: Yea, Annie LaValley: Yea, John Pelock: Yea, Dennis Purtell: Yea, Marian Viney: Yea

Yea: 9, Nay: 0, Absent: 1

X. Designate law firm/attorney for 2025-2026

Boardman & Clark

John Pelock made a motion to approve the designation of the law firm as presented. Steve Brown seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Karl Dommershausen: Absent, Eric Armstrong: Yea, Steve Brown: Yea, Dylan Helmenstine: Yea, Lisa Huempfner: Yea, Kathy Klein: Yea, Annie LaValley: Yea, John Pelock: Yea, Dennis Purtell: Yea, Marian Viney: Yea

Yea: 9, Nay: 0, Absent: 1

XI. Adjourn

Annie LaValley made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 8:59pm. Dennis Purtell seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Karl Dommershausen: Absent, Eric Armstrong: Yea, Steve Brown: Yea, Dylan Helmenstine: Yea, Lisa Huempfner: Yea, Kathy Klein: Yea, Annie LaValley: Yea, John Pelock: Yea, Dennis Purtell: Yea, Marian Viney: Yea

Yea: 9, Nay: 0, Absent: 1

Meeting notice posted at the following location: CESA 2 Whitewater Office

Meeting notice also posted at cesa2.org

c: District Administrators, CESA Administrators