

Reorganization Meeting of the Board of Control

Tuesday, June 20, 2023 Room 111 1221 Innovation Dr Ste 205 Whitewater, WI 53190

Minutes

Committee	Members
Audit	Dennis Purtell, Chairperson Karl Dommershausen
Personnel	Marian Viney, Chairperson Kathy Klein
Policy	Steve Brown, Chairperson Eric Armstrong John Porco

Attendance Taken at 8:18 PM. Eric Armstrong: Present, Steve Brown: Present, Karl Dommershausen: Present, Kathy Klein: Absent, Tom Mooney: Present, John Porco: Absent, Dennis Purtell: Present, David Schroeder: Present, Marian Viney: Present. Present: 7, Absent: 2.

I. Call to Order/Announcement of Compliance with the Open Meeting Law

II. Roll Call

III. Review and Approve Agenda

Steve Brown made a motion to approve the agenda as presented. Eric Armstrong seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Kathy Klein: Absent, John Porco: Absent, Eric Armstrong: Yea, Steve Brown: Yea, Karl Dommershausen: Yea, Tom Mooney: Yea, Dennis Purtell: Yea, David Schroeder: Yea, Marian Viney: Yea

Yea: 7, Nay: 0, Absent: 2

IV. Oath of Office - Newly Elected and Re-elected Members of the Board of Control

V. Election of Officers: Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson, and Treasurer Steve Brown made a motion to nominate Marian Viney as Chairperson. David Schroeder seconded the motion. The motion carried. Kathy Klein: Absent, John Porco: Absent, Eric Armstrong: Yea, Steve Brown: Yea, Karl Dommershausen: Yea, Tom Mooney: Yea, Dennis Purtell: Yea, David Schroeder: Yea, Marian Viney: Yea

Yea: 7, Nay: 0, Absent: 2Steve Brown made a motion to close the nomination process and on a voice vote appoint Marian Viney as the Chairperson. David Schroeder seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Kathy Klein: Absent, John Porco: Absent, Eric Armstrong: Yea, Steve Brown: Yea, Karl Dommershausen: Yea, Tom Mooney: Yea, Dennis Purtell: Yea, David Schroeder: Yea, Marian Viney: Yea

Yea: 7, Nay: 0, Absent: 2Karl Dommershausen made a motion to nominate Steve Brown as Vice-Chairperson. Dennis Purtell seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Kathy Klein: Absent, John Porco: Absent, Eric Armstrong: Yea, Steve Brown: Yea, Karl Dommershausen: Yea, Tom Mooney: Yea, Dennis Purtell: Yea, David Schroeder: Yea, Marian Viney: Yea

Yea: 7, Nay: 0, Absent: 2Karl Dommershausen made a motion to close the nomination process and on a voice vote appoint Steve Brown as the Vice-Chairperson. Dennis Purtell seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Kathy Klein: Absent, John Porco: Absent, Eric Armstrong: Yea, Steve Brown: Yea, Karl Dommershausen: Yea, Tom Mooney: Yea, Dennis Purtell: Yea, David Schroeder: Yea, Marian Viney: Yea

Yea: 7, Nay: 0, Absent: 2David Schroeder made a motion to nominate Karl Dommerhausen as Treasurer. Steve Brown seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Kathy Klein: Absent, John Porco: Absent, Eric Armstrong: Yea, Steve Brown: Yea, Karl Dommershausen: Yea, Tom Mooney: Yea, Dennis Purtell: Yea, David Schroeder: Yea, Marian Viney: Yea

Yea: 7, Nay: 0, Absent: 2David Schroeder made a motion to close the nomination process and on a voice vote appoint Karl Dommerhausen as the Treasurer. Steve Brown seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Kathy Klein: Absent, John Porco: Absent, Eric Armstrong: Yea, Steve Brown: Yea, Karl Dommershausen: Yea, Tom Mooney: Yea, Dennis Purtell: Yea, David Schroeder: Yea, Marian Viney: Yea

Yea: 7, Nay: 0, Absent: 2

VI. Set dates, time and place of the Regular Board of Control meetings for 2023-2024 Suggested dates: July 18, 2023; August 15, 2023; September 19, 2023; October 17, 2023; November 21, 2023; December 19, 2023; January 9, 2024; February 20, 2024; March 19, 2024; April 16, 2024; May 21, 2024; June 18, 2024

David Schroeder made a motion to approve the meeting date for July 18, 2023 and the remaining meeting dates will be chosen at the July meeting. Steve Brown seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Kathy Klein: Absent, John Porco: Absent, Eric Armstrong: Yea, Steve Brown: Yea, Karl Dommershausen: Yea, Tom Mooney: Yea, Dennis Purtell: Yea, David Schroeder: Yea, Marian Viney: Yea

Yea: 7, Nay: 0, Absent: 2

VII. 190 Day Calendar - working days calendar for 190 day staff

VIII. Designate official depository for 2023-2024

Suggested: First Citizens State Bank, Whitewater, WI

Dennis Purtell made a motion to approve the depository for 2023-2024 as presented. Karl Dommershausen seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Kathy Klein: Absent, John Porco: Absent, Eric Armstrong: Yea, Steve Brown: Yea, Karl Dommershausen: Yea, Tom Mooney: Yea, Dennis Purtell: Yea, David Schroeder: Yea, Marian

Viney: Yea

Yea: 7, Nay: 0, Absent: 2

IX. Designate official newspapers for 2023-2024

Suggested: Wisconsin State Journal, Madison; Kenosha News, Kenosha; Janesville Gazette, Janesville; Racine Journal Times, Racine

Steve Brown made a motion to approve the designation of the official newspapers as presented. Tom Mooney seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Kathy Klein: Absent, John Porco: Absent, Eric Armstrong: Yea, Steve Brown: Yea, Karl Dommershausen: Yea, Tom Mooney: Yea, Dennis Purtell: Yea, David Schroeder: Yea, Marian Viney: Yea

Yea: 7, Nay: 0, Absent: 2

X. Designate law firm/attorney for 2023-2024

Boardman & Clark

David Schroeder made a motion to approve the designation of Boardman & Clark as the agency law firm for 2023-2024. Karl Dommershausen seconded the motion. The motion carried. Kathy Klein: Absent, John Porco: Absent, Eric Armstrong: Yea, Steve Brown: Yea, Karl

Dommershausen: Yea, Tom Mooney: Yea, Dennis Purtell: Yea, David Schroeder: Yea, Marian Viney: Yea

Yea: 7, Nay: 0, Absent: 2

XI. Standing Committee Appointments: Audit, Personnel, and Policy

XII. Adjourn

Steve Brown made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 8:37pm. David Schroeder seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Kathy Klein: Absent, John Porco: Absent, Eric Armstrong: Yea, Steve Brown: Yea, Karl Dommershausen: Yea, Tom Mooney: Yea, Dennis Purtell: Yea, David Schroeder: Yea, Marian Viney: Yea

Yea: 7, Nay: 0, Absent: 2

Meeting notice posted at the following location: CESA 2 Whitewater Office

Meeting notice also posted at cesa2.org

c: District Administrators, CESA Administrators