

Reorganization Meeting of the Board of Control Date: Tuesday, May 19th, 2015

Immediately following the Annual Delegate Convention

Location: CESA 2 Conference Room 111

Minutes

#	Item	Minutes	Action
1.	Call to Order/Announcement of Compliance with Open Meeting Law	Ms. Thompson called the meeting to order at 8:36 pm. Dr. Albrecht confirmed that the meeting is in compliance with the Open Meeting Law.	Time: 8:36 pm
2.	Roll Call	Ms. Barlass called the roll. Present: Jim Bousman Ron Buchanan Tom Bush Michelle Dunn Beverly Fergus Evelyn Propp Nancy Thompson Jaye Tritz Marian Viney Jim Wahl Absent: Barbara Fischer Also present: Dr. Gary Albrecht Nicole Barlass Bill Barrow	
3.	Oath of Office - Newly Elected and Re-elected Members of the Board of Control/Election of Officers	Dr. Albrecht administered the Oath of Office to Ms. Dunn, Ms. Fergus, Ms. Thompson and Ms. Viney a. Chairperson – Nancy Thompson Ms. Tritz made a motion to nominate Ms.	Chairperson Motion: Buchanan Second: Wahl Motion carried 10:0

		Thompson as Chairperson. There were no other nominations. Mr. Buchanan made a motion to close the nomination process and confirm Ms. Thompson as Chairperson. Mr. Wahl seconded the motion. The motion carried 10:0. b. Vice-Chairperson – Jaye Tritz Mr. Wahl made a motion to nominate Ms. Tritz as Vice-Chairperson. There were no other nominations. Mr. Buchanan made a motion to close the nomination process and confirm Ms. Tritz as Vice-Chairperson. Ms. Propp seconded the motion. The motion carried 10:0. c. Treasurer – Tom Bush Mr. Buchanan made a motion to nominate Mr. Bush as Treasurer. There were no other nominations. Mr. Buchanan made a motion to close the nomination process and confirm Mr. Bush as Treasurer. Mr. Bousman seconded the motion. The motion carried 10:0.	Vice-Chairperson Motion: Buchanan Second: Propp Motion carried 10:0 Treasurer Motion: Buchanan Second: Bousman Motion carried 10:0
4.	Set time, place and dates of regular meetings of the Board of Control for 2015-2016	A discussion was held regarding the proposed meeting dates for 2015-2016. Mr. Bousman made a motion to set the following dates for the 2015-2016 meetings, to be held at 7 pm in the CESA 2 Conference Room at the Innovation Center: June 16, 2015; July 21, 2015; August 18, 2015; September 15, 2015; October 20, 2015; November 10, 2015; December 15, 2015; January 12, 2016; February 16, 2016; March 15, 2016; April 19, 2016 and May 17, 2016. Ms. Tritz seconded the motion. The motion carried 10:0.	Motion: Bousman Second: Tritz Motion carried 10:0
5.	Dates of PAC meetings	A discussion was held regarding the PAC meetings. Mr. Wahl made a motion to set the following dates for the PAC meetings: September 10, 2015; October 1, 2015; November 5, 2015; December 3, 2015; January 7, 2016; February 4, 2016; March 3, 2016; April 7, 2016 and May 12, 2016. Mr. Bush seconded the motion. The motion carried 10:0.	Motion: Wahl Second: Bush Motion carried 10:0

6.	190 Day Calendar	Mr. Buchanan made a motion to approve the 190 day calendar. Ms. Tritz seconded the motion. The motion carried 10:0.	Motion: Buchanan Second: Tritz Motion carried 10:0
7.	Monthly Board of Control work items	Mr. Bousman made a motion to approve the monthly Board of Control work items. Ms. Viney seconded the motion. The motion carried 10:0.	Motion: Bousman Second: Viney Motion carried 10:0
8.	Designate official depository(s) for 2015-2016	Ms. Dunn asked if credit unions had been considered an option. Mr. Barrow noted that they had been considered in the past, that FCCU was a local credit union and that credit unions could be considered again, perhaps as a second depository. Ms. Dunn made a motion to designate First Citizens State Bank, Whitewater as the official depository for 2015-2016. Ms. Fergus seconded the motion. The motion carried 10:0.	Motion: Dunn Second: Fergus Motion carried 10:0
9.	Designate official newspapers for 2015-2016	Ms. Fergus requested that the Stoughton Courier Hub be added as an official newspaper for 2015-2016. The Stoughton Courier Hub was added to the list. Mr. Buchanan made a motion to designate the following as official newspapers for 2015-2016: Wisconsin State Journal, Madison; Jefferson County Daily Union, Fort Atkinson; Kenosha News, Kenosha; Milton Courier, Milton; Monroe Evening Times, Monroe; Janesville Gazette, Janesville; Beloit Daily News, Beloit; Standard Press, Burlington; Post Messenger Recorder, New Glarus; Stoughton Courier Hub, Stoughton and Watertown Daily Times, Watertown. Ms. Propp seconded the motion. The motion carried 10:0.	Motion: Buchanan Second: Propp Motion carried 10:0
10.	Legal Firm/Attorney for 2015- 2016	A discussion was held regarding the legal firm/attorney to be used in 2015-2016. The Agency Administrator or designee will contact the approved legal firm/attorney for CESA 2 Board representation on legal issues that arise concerning personnel, contracts, and other matters. Dr. Albrecht recommended the Board continue to use Mr. Jim Ruhly of	Motion: Tritz Second: Propp Motion carried 10:0

		Boardman & Clark. Dr. Albrecht also requested that the CESA Purchasing office be able to work with Attorney Kirk Strang on contract matters. Ms. Tritz made a motion to designate Mr. Ruhly of Boardman & Clark as the attorney and legal firm for 2015-2016 and to allow CESA Purchasing to work with Mr. Strang on contracts. Ms. Propp seconded the motion. The motion carried 10:0.	
11.	Standing committee appointments for 2015-2016	A discussion was held regarding committee appointments and Ms. Thompson appointed the members as follows: Audit – Mr. Bush, Ms. Dunn, Ms. Tritz (chair), and Mr. Wahl Personnel – Ms. Fergus, Ms. Viney, and Ms. Thompson (chair) Policy – Mr. Bousman, Mr. Buchanan, Ms. Fischer (chair), and Ms. Propp	
12.	Adjourn	Mr. Buchanan made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Mr. Wahl seconded the motion. The motion carried 10:0. The meeting adjourned at 9:03 pm.	Motion: Buchanan Second: Wahl Time: 9:03 pm Motion carried 10:0