CESA 2 BOARD OF CONTROL Annual Delegate Convention May 20, 2014 Minutes



CESA 2 Board of Control Secretary, Dr. Gary Albrecht, called the Delegate Convention to order at 7:07 pm.

Dr. Albrecht noted the list of registered delegates, and it was determined that a quorum was present.

A motion was made by Rick Mason (Lake Mills) and seconded by Peggy Hill-Breunig (Waunakee) to accept the minutes from the May 21, 2013 Delegate Convention. The motion was unanimously approved.

Dr. Albrecht requested that a nomination be made for the Chairperson of the Delegate Convention. Jim Wahl (Brodhead) nominated Nancy Thompson (Waterloo) as the Chairperson of the Delegate Convention. There were no further nominations. A motion was made by Barb Fischer (Elkhorn) and seconded by Jaye Tritz (Genoa City Jt. #2) to close the nomination process and elect Nancy Thompson (Waterloo) as the Chairperson of the Delegate Convention. The motion was unanimously approved.

A motion was made by John Acomb (Beloit) and seconded by Tom Bush (Deerfield) to adopt *Robert's Rules of Order Newly Revised* as the rules of parliamentary procedure. The motion was unanimously approved.

Nancy Thompson (Waterloo) appointed Jaye Tritz (Genoa City Jt. #2) as the Parliamentarian.

Nancy Thompson recognized the former CESA 2 Board of Control members present: Ron Buchanan (Watertown), Tom Bush (Deerfield), Jerry Landmark (New Glarus), and David Patterson (Beloit Turner).

Nancy Thompson (Waterloo) explained the plan of representation and election procedure. A short recess was provided for those clusters that needed to select a nominee.

New Board of Control members were elected as follows:

Cluster C: Tom Bush, Deerfield, elected to serve a three-year term

Cluster D: Jerry Landmark, New Glarus, elected to serve a one-year term

Cluster F: Evelyn Propp, Clinton, elected to serve a three-year term

Cluster H: Ron Buchanan, Watertown, elected to serve a three-year term

Cluster I: Tina Rossmiller, Evansville, elected to serve a three-year term

Dr. Albrecht and CESA 2 staff members Nicole Barlass, Tracy Elger and Bill Barrow presented information regarding CESA 2 operations in 2013-2014, the redesign of CESA 2 and the steps the agency is taking to move forward.

Dr. Kent Peterson, Emeritus Professor of the Department of Education Leadership and Policy Analysis, University of Wisconsin-Madison presented on "Shaping Great Schools for Today and Tomorrow."

May 19, 2015 was suggested as the date for the 2015 Delegate Convention. A motion was made by David Patterson (Beloit Turner) to set the date as suggested and seconded by Ron Buchanan (Watertown). The motion was unanimously approved.

A motion was made by David Patterson (Beloit Turner) and seconded by Barbara Fischer (Elkhorn) to adjourn the Delegate Convention at 9:08 p.m. The motion was unanimously approved.

Respectfully submitted,

Gary L. Albrecht, PhD